The International Assessment of Agricultural Knowledge, Science and Technology (IAASTD) describes agroecology as. . . .

“. . .the foundation of sustainable agriculture, [it] is the science and practice of applying ecological concepts and principles to the study, design and management of sustainable agroecosystems. An agroecological approach recognises the multifunctional dimensions of agriculture and facilitates progress towards a broad range of equitable and sustainable development goals. A wide variety of technologies, practices and innovations including local and traditional knowledge draw on the science of agroecology, including integrated natural resource management, organic agriculture. . . .conservation agriculture and agroforestry.”

Towards Multifunctional Agriculture for Social, Environmental and Economic Sustainability (IAASTD, Issues in Brief)

Aims and objectives

The group will:

1. Provide a parliamentary focus for agroecological approaches to land management

2. Allow agroecological experts and researchers to present their ideas and research findings to MPs, peers, researchers, special advisors, the media and the public on a regular basis.

3. Publish parliamentary briefings on agroecological issues.

4. Co-ordinate lobbying of ministers and opposition including instigating ministerial meetings, Early Day Motions, debates and Parliamentary Questions

5. Cover issues relevant to all parts of the world.

The following parliamentarians are members of the group:

  • The Rt Hon Lord Philip Hunt (Lab)
  • Baroness Jenkin (Con)
  • Countess of Mar (CB)
  • Baroness Miller (LibDem)
  • Bishop of London (Ind)
  • Lord Walpole (CB)
  • Lord Redesdale (LibDem)
  • Tim Farron (LibDem)
  • Robert Flello (Lab)
  • Andrew George (LibDem)
  • Zac Goldsmith (Con)
  • Harriet Harman (Lab)
  • Oliver Heald (Con)
  • Kate Hoey (Lab)
  • Martin Horwood (LibDem)
  • Jeremy Lefroy (Con)
  • Caroline Lucas (Green)
  • Michael Meacher (Lab)
  • Tessa Munt (LibDem)
  • Dan Rogerson (LibDem)
  • Joan Ruddock (Lab)
  • Angela Smith (Lab)
  • Gary Streeter (Con)
  • John Thurso (LibDem)
  • Roger Williams (LibDem)
  • Dr Sarah Wollaston (Con)
  • Tim Yeo (Con)

The following organisations support the group:

  • CPRE
  • Compassion in World Farming
  • Practical Action
  • Scottish Crofting Federation
  • Friends of the Earth England Wales and Northern Ireland
  • The Organic Research Centre
  • The Soil Association
  • The Campaign for Real Farming
  • GM Freeze
  • Gaia Foundation
  • Find Your Feet
  • LandShare (CIC)
  • Econexus

Current as of July 12, 2011

2 Responses to “About”

  1. Please keep me informed.

Leave a Reply



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

© 2011 Agroecology Group User notice Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha